7 Comments

Tuesday Tunes Discussion – Lady Gaga = Bologna & Cheese

I listened to the radio for the first time in a long time over the weekend.  I made a point to step out of my comfort area of classic rock and try something contemporary.

so instead of these guys . . .

I got a hearty dose of this.

Which is kind of like . . .

asking for this . . .

and getting this (only covered with a heckalot of cleavage-colored sparkles).

And nobody is excited about that.  It got me to thinking, was I becoming one of those people who believe that good music stopped being made after their own generation?  Have I, at least in a musical sense, become just like that old man in a bar who goes on about how things were much better in his day?

And then I remembered these guys . . .

and these guys . . .

And was relieved that I remembered how mediocre popular music was when I was growing up, too.  All of which makes me recall something my good friend Mike Carter once said to me, that there are two kinds of music lovers: music whores and music nazis.  Mike was a self-described music whore.  If you put it on the radio, he tended to find something to like about it.  Me, I suppose I’m the music nazi, the kind of person who believes that certain music meets the acceptable love standard, and all the rest are crap.

Charlie Chaplin was a notorious music nazi.

I guess there’s something to be said for each side of the argument.  But no one will ever convince me that buying a Right Said Fred album is not a complete and utter waste of my hard-earned money.

Don’t forget to vote.

7 comments on “Tuesday Tunes Discussion – Lady Gaga = Bologna & Cheese

  1. I must be one too. All the songs my niece listens to sound the same to me. Having grown up in the Beatles era, I think I grew up in the greatest music era. hands down.

  2. For years I tried to stay current with up-and-coming bands, and you know what there are still an incredible amount of really awesome bands. They’re just not on popular radio stations anymore. It’s getting harder and harder to find the gems b/c you have to work so hard to find them, which is kind of why I’m no longer current on the new bands.

    On a side note…most of the current bands that I like all seem to be throw-back bands that sound like they were around in the late 60’s/early 70’s.

  3. It has been a rough night politically, so I’m limping somewhat. That said, I have to agree with Linda. The quality of music (quantity also) was extraordinary. You can’t argue with the Beatles, Stones, and ready for the Clash, the Who, the freaking Monkees, for Chrissakes!

  4. Also. Too. I’m a music Nazi. If you don’t like Suede, I am not listening to your opinion.

  5. Sigh…yes, I agree with Linda. I try listen to the radio (I like some of Foo Fighters and ColdPlay) but then it’s back to the 60’s and 70’s.

  6. I FEEL SORRY FOR YOU ALL – THE GOOD MUSIC STOPPED WITH THE 50’S. ANYONE WHO SAYS DIFFERENT IS A NAZI!

  7. Mom–you’re talking Pat Boone for heaven’s sakes!

Leave a Reply

