2 Comments

Wikipedia Wednesday – Paul Donnelly

Okay, so here’s the idea.  One day a week I go to Wikipedia, hit the random article link and whatever comes up is my topic of discussion.  Sounds like a good idea, right?

Of course, depending upon who you asked and when you asked, the following sounded like a good idea, too:

It wasn’t.

But anyway, that failure shouldn’t stop me, right?  I didn’t think so, either.  And so I went ahead with my plan.  It yielded . . . wait for it . . .

Mr. Paul Donnelly.

Who is Paul Donnelly, you ask?  Other than a ruggedly handsome individual (I’m assuming)?  Well, he’s a Scottish Footballer, or as we like to call it here in the States . . .

God Bless America

. . . a soccer player.  His entire entry reads as follows:

Paul Donnelly (born February 16, 1970) is an Scottish-Australian football player. [1] He currently is the captain of Altona East Phoenix and plays alongside great footballers such as Vladimir “Vlado” Zoric, who used to play for the old Marconi Stallions in the NSL and Steve Iosifidis, who played for South Melbourne in the NSL and also played in the FIFA Club World Cup in 2000 in Brazil.”

Not much there, though I do love all things Australian.

Like this.

But since Donnelly is technically still a Scotsman by birth, I’m afraid I’ve got nothing more to say about him.  But this post did get me thinking about soccer, specifically all the excitement around the World Cup, when soccer finally arrived to stay in America.  Again. 

Shocking that Landon Donovan and his ragtag team of scrappy do-gooders again failed to rally the American people behind the most popular sport in the world. 

His smile is to die for. (Smile not pictured here)

But even people who were legitimately into the World Cup have said nary a word to me about soccer since this summer.  Nor have I said anything to them, and I legitimately like soccer.  There’s a pizza shop just around the corner from me that plays soccer games constantly and I’m always happy to pass my stuffing-my-face time watching.  But I guess I’m just not heavily invested in it.

Things I am heavily invested in:

Yes.

Oh, yes.

Oh, my, YES!

Where was I.  Ah, yes.  Mr. Paul Donnelly.  Well, I hope he enjoys Australia.

Australia.

2 comments on “Wikipedia Wednesday – Paul Donnelly

  1. Oh my. Lasagna, Guinness, and a monkey with a champagne bottle. Well, at least our priorities are straight. Myself, I’m torn with putting the lasagna ahead of the Guinness. But that’s just me.

  2. Also, too: I make a really excellent lasagna if you would like to visit.

Leave a Reply

