Leave a comment

The Caring Continuum

For today’s post, I’m going to have to have you look at me in a different way:  as a protector of all that is good and pure in this world, a masked crusader protecting you from the many dangers that would seek you out in the dead of night.

Like Batman riding an elephant.

As a stalwart defender of the English language I must remain constantly vigilant as people (sometimes, alas, even family and friends) attack it with malapropisms and expressions that simply don’t make any sense.

In this defense I am ably assisted by my sidekick, Mr. Snookums.

Today’s particular example of Butchery:  the phrase “I could care less.”  The first thought that runs through my mind after I hear someone say this is, “Yes, but how much less?”

This is the first visual I get when someone says this.  Don’t let this be you.

What the person undoubtedly means to say is that they “couldn’t care less” because if you can’t care less you are caring at the exact minimum level already.

As this Caring Continuum Chart beautifully illustrates.

So, please, for the love of God, say it right.  It isn’t hard.  It doesn’t take any longer and you’ll sound so much smarter.

And you’ll earn the eternal friendship of this guy.  I call him Roscoe.

 

Leave a Reply

