Leave a comment

Dealing with Writer’s Block

I have four chapters left to write to complete my manuscript.  I’ve had four chapters left to write in this manuscript for a full month. 

The situation has grown dire enough to depress penguins.

It isn’t for a lack of thinking about it.  I’ve scrawled dozens of pages of notes, outlines, scraps of dialogue.  But when it comes time to put the words together on a page in a meaningful way I got a whole lot of this goin’ on:

Aaaaah, yeah.  That’s the ticket.

with a little bit of this thrown in for good measure:

I’ve even purchased a baseball bat, just in case.

Now, you may be saying, then what are you doing wasting your time blogging Craig?  Why aren’t you working on your book if it’s so important to you? And the answer is, trying to force creativity when it just ain’t happening is a lot like doing this:

I’ve already destroyed two computer monitors. It gets expensive.

So, another tactic would seem to be wise.  Something like writing, but not writing.  Blogging!  That’s the ticket.  I’ll blog, and then when my writer’s block isn’t paying attention . . . whammo! I’ll pounce!

It’s called misdirection.  A classic tactic used by Messrs. Bonaparte, Eisenhower & Copperfield (among others) to great effect…

Sometimes devastating effect.

Where was I?  Oh, yes.  Writer’s block.  Misdirection.  Sometimes you can think too much about a thing.  And that becomes counterproductive.  Which is where NaNoWriMo comes in. 

NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month.  The idea is for one month all aspiring writers put the pedal to the metal and pound out 50,000 words of writing in the month of November.

Cats usually come up 50K words short due to an inclination to lick themselves.

Whereas I, always driven to buck trends and operate contrary to advice given by horribly cutesy cat motivational posters, have written a grand total of 55, give or take 50.

But those 5 words were compelling.

Still, there is light at the end of the tunnel…

I just hope it isn’t an advancing locomotive

…and the wheels have been turning…

albeit at a pedestrian pace.

…and I think it won’t be long until the gears start moving and the words start flowing, NaNoWriMo be damned.  But just in case the writer’s block continues, fear not on my account;  I do have a plan B in place.

Though it’ll likely cost me an infinite number of bananas…

Leave a Reply

