2 Comments

Happy Birthday to Me

So, I turn 34 today. Yay! Happy Birthday to me.

Oooooh, Cake! I shouldn’t have!

Birthdays are funny things.  You love them when you’re a kid, longer if you like cake, but eventually they turn into hard things to celebrate as we accumulate more baggage.  I’ve always shared my birthday with my brother.

Pictured here for those who forget which member of the Mario family he is.

No, my brother and I are not twins.

Not even of the Devito-Arnie variety.  Though, to be fair we’re more like Devito-Devito, which sounds like the shortest, most sarcastic law firm in history. 

That sucked growing up, but became all right as we got older and now that we’re middle aged, it’s almost a comfort.

Especially since he’s older and always will be.  Sucks to be him.

But like many people, I often find myself giving way to nostalgia for my lost youth when my birthday shows up on the calendar.  I find myself getting misty-eyed about fads that have since faded away.

Whither the purple swatch?

Last night I had the sudden urge to listen to Warrant’s Down Boys, a song I remember liking from my childhood.  I had the time and means to turn my urge into action.  So I downloaded the song from iTunes.

As you can well imagine it didn’t end well.  Nostalgia rarely does.  The song hasn’t aged well.  Neither, for that matter, has Jani Lane.

But it’s hard to maintain a good nostalgia binge when sometimes the memories aren’t so great.  You see, this year my birthday marks the 25th anniversary of the Challenger explosion.

Last year it was the 24th anniversary, but 24th anniversaries of events rarely make headlines.

I remember it well.  A school teacher in tears running into my art class.  The space shuttle had exploded.  All the astronauts were dead.

It shook me so much I still can’t draw anything more complicated than a stickman to this day. 

So, enough of this walk down memory lane.  Happy Birthday to me, to my brother, to my friend, John. 

Don’t worry, I brought enough virtual cake for everyone.

2 comments on “Happy Birthday to Me

  1. Thank you, my wonderful brother. Just one small thing: why are the pictures used to depict me always the most god-awful thing you can devise/download?? Seriously. You’re giving me a complex. (Just kidding, I already had that.)

  2. ARE YOU REALLY THAT OLD? I’M STILL 54. YOU’VE AGED NICELY-
    SOMETHING LIKE CHEESE AND WINE. I’M AGING BUT NOT NICELY-
    BUT I LIKE CHEESE BECAUSE IT HAS HOLES IN IT AND THEY DON’T PUT ON ANY WEIGHT, AND THE ALCOHOL IN THE WINE IS GOOD FOR RUBBING ON ACHING JOINTS. ANYWAY, DON’T BE DISCOURAGED – WAIT UNTIL 25 YRS. FROM NOW, THEN CRY!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

