2 Comments

Introducing Judas Peckerwood

There are a lot of vulgarisms out there you can use to describe someone of an unpleasant personality, many of them scatological, such as jerk, ass, prick, dick, douchebag, etc.  And these are all well and good.  Useful on occassion.

Douchebag suffices to describe this guy, for example.

And sometimes these words can be amusing.

And sometimes excellent.

But my personal favorite has always been peckerwood.  And it’s not just because I have always been drawn to big words, though I do like big words.

Also, being extremely literal.

No, I like peckerwood because it’s so descriptive.  I like it because it flows off the tongue.  It has a certain je ne sais quoi.

A French phrase used by peckerwoods like the above for generations.

But sometimes it just doesn’t suffice.  How would I describe a peckerwood like above who had personally screwed me over?  Fortunately, more creative minds than my own have been wrestling with the subject for decades.

In a manner that I can only imagine looks a lot like this.

I’m delighted to share with both my readers, Richard Russo has made the breakthrough:  Lady and Gentleman, I present to you: Judas Peckerwood.

As appears in this novel, Straight Man, which is available for purchase in your nearest brick-and-mortar book store or online at Amazon.com.

 This is a breakthough on the level of penicillin, the wheel and the engine.

Without two of which we would not have this; and we would be the poorer for it.  As a sidenote, this guy-though clearly unhinged-is not a peckerwood.

 So, go ahead, start using the phrase.  You’ll be the richer for it.

2 comments on “Introducing Judas Peckerwood

  1. Carson Daly quite possibly has risen to Peckerwood status. And don’t get me started on that Seacrest guy. Though, wait, he’s probably just a douche. But Stalin? That dude was a Peckerwood.

  2. […] So:  to make amends.  I have to add my meager addition to my brother’s extremely funny post.  https://thedimlight.wordpress.com/2011/02/26/introducing-judas-peckerwood/ […]

Leave a Reply

