Leave a comment

Post #97

Every time I hit the Publish button on WordPress I get a little window that displays how many posts I’ve made and a note telling me how many more posts I need to make to reach my next goal.

Which made me run out and buy one of these to track my progress more easily.  Then I found out that each goal was just five more than the last. My math is solid enough that I can count to five without the aid of a thermometer-shaped goal tracker.

Well, I’m now approaching the first meaningful goal:  One hundred posts.  As you can see from the subject, I will only be three posts away after this one hits the air.

Right now I’m thinking of them as the Three Amigo posts. #98 will be named Martin Short. #99 Chevy Chase. #100 Steve Martin. Which means #98 can be tiny, #100 must be extra snarky and #99 doesn’t have to be funny at all.

So, I figured to create a sense of building tension and expectation to my two dozen readers I would start the countdown with post #97:  The Fourth Amigo.

65% funnier than Chevy Chase.

Of course, I can’t have a Three Amigos themed post without at least mentioning El Guapo.

Which, unless my junior high Spanish skills have completely abandoned me, means: “Man with ludicrously big hat.”

As Lucky Day once said of El Guapo, “In a way, all of us has an El Guapo to face. For some, shyness might be their El Guapo. For others, a lack of education might be their El Guapo. For us, El Guapo is a big, dangerous man who wants to kill us. But as sure as my name is Lucky Day, the people of Santa Poco can conquer their own personal El Guapo, who also happens to be *the actual* El Guapo!”

And so will I conquer these last three posts.  Thank you Steve Martin.  We owe so much to you.

Some of it quite unforgivable.

This was Post #97.

I promise the next one will be more substantial.

Leave a Reply

