1 Comment

AK-47s to be refashioned

In yet another strangely non-compelling positive gesture a number of artists in London are putting together an exhibition in which the central feature will be refashioned AK-47s.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Russian-issued military hardware, here’s what a non-decorative AK-47 looks like.

This is similar in theme and purpose to the guns-for-toys programs that have been going on for decades in an effort to take weapons off the street and replace them with toys.

Though it is at a mercenary exchange rate. I gave up my Colt 45, Bessie, and all I got back was…

Second-hand Lincoln Logs. It was a total rip off. There wasn’t even a toy Lincoln in the set that I could use to pretend to emancipate the excess logs.

While no one can doubt the intentions of such programs, their effectiveness is not always guaranteed.  Take the guns for sex toys offer made by this Alabaman entrepreneur as a Valentine’s Day promotion.

The most romantic idea EV-er!

It didn’t so much fail as it didn’t really catch on.  I know because I tried to turn Bessie in to my local sex shop first and they wouldn’t even offer me a cracked-out Courtney Love blow-up doll.

I kid, I kid! They gave me twenty. And I still got to keep my gun.

But back to the topic at hand.  What can they possibly do to make AK-47s into art?  Make a lamp out of it?

Put flowers in the barrel and make them ugly vases?

No, of course not.  I see avant-garde sculpture in our future.

I don’t know art, but I know what I like. This isn’t it.

And that, my friends, is the new shape of peace.

One comment on “AK-47s to be refashioned

  1. […] AK-47s to be refashioned Posted in: Video   Tags: AK-47, arme, Assault rifle, Assault weapon, Romania, Video « School of Law […]

Leave a Reply

