1 Comment

Wishing a Dear Friend a Happy Birthday

It can be completely embarrassing when you forget a birthday.

I need more string, more fingers and apparently to wash my hands once in a while.

There’s nothing more awkward than the moment you realize the person you’re talking to is expecting a present (or at least acknowledgement) from you and you haven’t the first clue why.

I blame that Colonel Mustard guy. You know he advised the French before World War II, right? What a clown.

So it was with great chagrin that I happened upon this link today.  That’s right.  The Long Island Iced Tea just turned 40.

A picture of me at 9:45 AM when I found out. Such shame.

The Long Island and I met in a grungy bar in Bowling Green called Howard’s.

Which looked absolutely nothing like this picture of it on the intranet.

I think it’s fair to say that it was love at first taste.

I might have drunkenly quoted the classic Simpsons line: “There’s a party in mouth and everyone’s invited!”

Which makes it particularly embarrassing that I missed the birthday.  And it’s not any birthday, either.  It’s the big 4-0.

Which means I finally have an excuse to use this picture!

So, I just want to say, Long Island, I’ve known you for a long time and you’ve never let me down…

Which is more than I can say about Ridley Scott’s “Prometheus.”

… and we’ve had some good times.  I’m sorry I forgot your birthday.  It won’t happen again.  Here, let me make it up to you.

I got you something. It’s champagne, the call girl of alcohol. Have a blast, Long Island!

One comment on “Wishing a Dear Friend a Happy Birthday

  1. I have some fond memories that include Long Island Iced Teas!

Leave a Reply

